South African Players Clear Covid Tests Ahead Of T20I Series Against India

The South African players gathered at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium for their optional practice session having cleared the mandatory RT-PCR tests ahead of the 5-match T20I series against India.

The spin trio of Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, and Aiden Markram spent the most time at the nets as the wicket-keeper batter, Quinton de Kock, watched from the sidelines.

Considering the sub-continent conditions, spinners are naturally expected to play a huge role in the outcome of the games and the Proteas were keen on honing their skills in the same department.

“All the squad members have tested negative but for the IPL players who were in action till last week, they would be given a few days break ahead of the series as part of workload management,” a member of the Proteas support staff told PTI on the sidelines of the net session.

In the meantime, the returning Wayne Parnell also hit the straps with the young gun, Marco Jansen, also having an extended session. Most of the team has gathered in Delhi while IPL-winning batter, David Miller, is currently holidaying in the Maldives and is expected to join the team soon.

David Miller, Kagiso Rabada
David Miller and Kagiso Rabada after winning the game for South Africa. (Image: Twitter)

India’s T20I squad:

KL Rahul (Capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(VC) (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Y Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, R Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

South Africa’s T20I squad:

Temba Bavuma (Capt), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendrix, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwayne Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabariz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rasi van der Dussen, Marco Jansen.

Also Read – Will Meet Avishek Dalmiya In Person And Finalise The Formalities – Wriddhiman Saha Confirms On Leaving Bengal Team

Source link